Armed Forces News

The Defense Department has ordered a stop to all travel to, within or from 32 countries experiencing a CDC identified level-3 danger including Germany, France, Italy and South Korea.

The memo, which applies to all DoD military and civilian personnel and their families, is to extend 60 days through May 13 and applies to all forms of official travel including permanent change of station, temporary duty and government-funded leave.


DoD said the restriction applies to personal leave and other non-official travel for military personnel, and emphasized that anyone traveling should make sure flights to not transit through or originate in Level 3 designated locations.

Current Level-3 countries:
Austria, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City.

Travel restrictions applying to Level 2 designated locations have also been put in place for 60 days.
Searchable CDC destination list:

All hiring actions for Level 2 and Level 3 locations have also been frozen – and that includes anyone already hired but not arrived at a duty station.

Exceptions are possible, but that’s up to combat commanders, service secretaries and chief management officers on a case-by-case basis (requiring a written exception, by no lower than the first general or flag officer or member of the Senior Executive Service in the traveler’s chain of command or supervision).

Individuals pending retirement or separation within the next 60 days are exempt, according to the memo: Travel Restriction for DOD Components in Response to Coronavirus Disease 2019.

DoD Travel Protocol for Covid-19 Surpasses CDC Guidance; Self-Quarantine


OPM Expands Guidance on Absence, Dismissal Due to Coronavirus Concerns