Federal Manager's Daily Report

Twelve winners have been announced for the annual Arthur S. Flemming Awards, which honor early-career—between three and 15 years of service—federal employees in the categories of applied science and engineering, basic science, leadership and management, legal achievement, and social science.

Winners for applied science and engineering are Dr. Balasubramanian Muralikrishnan of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and Lieutenant Commander Chaolong Qi of the CDC. Winners for leadership and management are Karyn Durbin of the National Nuclear Security Administration; Dr. Karen Howard of the GAO; Ellen Ryan of the National Institute of Standards and Technology; and Dr. Seh Welch of the CDC.


Winners for basic science are Dr. Douglas Gladue of the Agricultural Research Service; Dr. Evgeny Mishin of the Air Force Research Laboratory; and Dr. John Teufel of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Lisa Motley of the GAO won for legal achievement and Dr. Thomas Osborne of the VA and Dr. Kandice Tanner of the National Institutes of Health won for social science.

The awards are sponsored by the Arthur S. Flemming Commission, named for a federal official who served in senior positions from the Eisenhower to Clinton administrations, in partnership with the George Washington University Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration and the National Academy of Public Administration.

VA Confirms Firings Under Its Vaccine Mandate; Broader Policy Still in Limbo

Meet ‘AVA’: TSP Changes Not Just about Investment Window

New MSPB Board Setting Standards on Retaliation, Discipline Other Issues

Rules Proposed on Accepting Legal Defense Funds, Representation

See also,

First Results of 2021 Employee Survey Show Employee Satisfaction Declining

Brush Up on Federal Employees Dental and Vision Insurance

Employee Opinions of Leaders Decline as Level Rises

Second Appeals Court Rejects Challenge to Vaccine Mandate

Administration Asks Court to Speed Up Return of Vaccine Mandate

Wait Continues for Clarity on Return of Vaccine Mandate

2022 Federal Employees Handbook