OPM has posted the boundary lines of the new GS locality areas effective this year, created after years of consideration by the Federal Salary Council and the higher-level President’s Pay Agent.

If the freeze on salary rates ordered by President Trump remains in effect, employees working in those areas will remain at their current level of salary, which is the catchall “rest of U.S.” rate. If a raise is paid, they will receive slightly larger raises than they would have as part of RUS, as well as in future years—benefitting more than 70,000 employees. In addition, McKinley County, N.M., is being added to the Albuquerque locality and San Luis Obispo County, Calif., to the Los Angeles area.

The new localities are:

Birmingham, Ala.—Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chilton, Coosa, Cullman, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa and Walker counties

Burlington, Vt.—Chittenden, Franklin and Grand Isle counties

Corpus Christie—Aransas, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces and San Patricio counties

Omaha—Cass, Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington counties in Nebraska; Harrison, Mills and Pottawattamie counties in Iowa

San Antonio—Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina and Wilson counties

Virginia Beach–Chesapeake city, Gloucester County, Hampton city, Isle of Wight County, James City County, Mathews County, Newport News city, Norfolk city, Norfolk city, Portsmouth city, Suffolk city, Virginia Beach city, Williamsburg city and York County in Virginia; Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, Perquimans and Tyrrell counties in North Carolina.