The Martin Luther King, Jr. federal holiday will be observed nationwide on Monday the 16th but Inauguration Day on Friday the 20th will be a holiday only for federal employees regularly scheduled to work that day in the immediate national capital area. The pertinent zone is the District of Columbia, Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties in Maryland, Arlington and Fairfax Counties in Virginia, and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church in Virginia. Employees with an official worksite in that area are eligible for the holiday (unless they are scheduled to be working outside that area that day for reasons such as official travel or regularly scheduled telework) as are those with an official worksite outside the area but who are scheduled to be working in that area that day. Due to street closings and other disruptions, OPM has encouraged agencies in the area to allow employees to telework on January 18 and 19, and/or to allow them to use an alternative work schedule day off, annual leave, leave without pay, previously earned compensatory time off, and/or earned credit hours under a flexible work schedule.